Sunday, April 25, 2010

Clinton Comets' Pat Kelly named to Greater Utica Hall of Fame

6 named to Greater Utica Sports Hall of Fame
Posted Apr 23, 2010 @ 04:11 PM

Six former area athletes were named Friday to the Greater Utica Sports Hall of Fame.

The inductees are: Byron Abraham, Ernest Jones, Pat Kelly, J. Michael Barr, Alonzo Patterson and Rick Siriano.

The induction ceremony will take place Sunday, June 6, at the Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre. The event will begin at 4 p.m. with a cocktail hour followed by dinner and program.

Tickets are $25, and can be purchased by emailing

Greater Utica Sports HOF selects '10 class
- WKTV Newschannel 2 Sports

The Greater Utica Sports Hall of Fame released its 2010 Class of Inductees Friday. This year’s selections are:

...Former National Hockey League coach Patrick J. Kelly. The 2008 ECHL Hall of Fame Inductee coached in the Atlantic Coast Hockey League, American Hockey League, Eastern Hockey League, International Hockey League, Quebec Hockey League, Southern Hockey League, and World Hockey League in addition to the National Hockey League. He led the famed Clinton Comets to 5 first place finishes, the Charlotte Checkers (SHL) to 2 first place finishes, and the Salem Raiders (ACHL) to a first place finish. In 1984-85, his Peoria Rivermen finished first overall in the IHL. His teams won 3 Walker Cups, 2 James Crockett Trophies, and one Turner Cup. He was SHL Coach of the Year in 1974-75 and IHL Co-Coach of the Year in 1984-85. His combined coaching record is 936-798-170.

No comments:

Post a Comment